Wednesday, January 16, 2008


I was just accepted into studying architecture. That means 3 years of a Bachelor of Design Studies, then 2 years of a Masters in Architecture/Landscape Architecture, and then 2 years of working and studying to obtain a licence which allows me to practice. Hello 7 years of study, hello 2015, hello 29 year old Mara!! It also means 40 hours of study per week which translates to very little time to do anything else. Boo!

Anyway, I'm hoping that it'll be a fun time, that I'll actually enjoy myself and won't decide to change degrees after 2 years like I did with the last one...Here's to the future!

And here's to my cute kitten who likes getting his head stuck in drinking glasses.
elvis with his head in a glass

Sunday, January 13, 2008

Cupcakes, zines and hardcore

Tonight Infection played a show at the Underground with NSW band World's Apart, and Adelaide bands Maverick, Can't Relate and Ever Ready. It was a bit of a bummer as we didn't get enough payers, so the boys from Worlds Apart didn't make any money, so I'm feeling a little down on the 'scene' at the moment. Ah well, I still managed to sell most of my cupcakes, and a good chunk of my zines too! Here are some photos of the cakes I made.

cupcake tree
^ All three types - Strawberry Vanilla, Chocolate Peanut Butter, and Lemon Sherbet!

chocolate peanut butter cupcakes
^ Closeup of the Chocolate Peanut Butter

lemon sherbet cupcakes
^ Closeup of the Lemon Sherbet

Monday, January 7, 2008

Old year, New year.

So all results are in, and the resounding consensus is that, although 2007 wasn't all that I hoped for, I definitely ended the year on a good note. Here is a brief summation of what happened in my year, and why 2008 is going to be a year of growth (spiritual, maturing, intelligence), achievement, romance, excitement and contentment.


matt and elvis.jpg

cupcakes inside

infection rooftop show.jpg


sew-sew-a-go-go's patch


temple stylin






tour van.jpg



I'm going to be
+ more house-proud
+ more creative
+ committed to studying
+ romantic and spontaneous
+ fit and healthy
+ financially independent
+ close with my girls
+ never too far from home

...wish me luck...!